The Tertiary Education Institutions (TEI) consists of both University tertiary education and training at university level and non-university tertiary education and training also known as Professional Centers (PC). Over the years, the responsibility and management of PCs has shifted between the Ministry of Education and other parent ministries. Currently there are 9 PCs in operation the Seychelles namely the Seychelles Business Studies and Accounting (SBSA), Seychelles Institute of Technology (SIT), Maritime Training Academy (MTA), National Institute of Health and Social Studies (NIHSS), Seychelles Tourism Academy (STA), Seychelles Institute of Art and Design (SIAD) and Seychelles Institute of Agriculture and Horticulture (SIAH), The Seychelles Institute of Teacher Education (S.I.T.E)  and The Seychelles Institute of Distance & Open Learning (SIDOL)

As for the University tertiary education and training, from 2000 to 2009, the University of Seychelles– American Institute of Medicine (USAIM) was the only (private) university established in Seychelles, registered under the Education Act (2004), specifically the regulations on private schools. In September 2009, a new public university, the University of Seychelles (UniSey), came into operation. Traditionally, university-level education and training has been accessed overseas through government sponsored/approved scholarships in key fields matching the human resource needs of the country.


Education Sector Medium-term (EMS) Strategic Plan 2013-2017 and Beyond


About us

TEC is responsible for tertiary education and to co-ordinate the sustainable and harmonized development of tertiary education nationally.



Ministry of Education Headquaters
Mont Fleuri, Mahe, Seychelles
P.O.Box 418, Victoria
Tel. 4610 944 | Fax. 4610 923
Email: ceosec[at]